Product reviews

Review: Kiko Universal Fit Hydrating Foundation

KIKK

I’ve been looking for a good foundation for ages. Because of my ultra dry atopic skin, foundations I’ve tried were either too drying or irritating, or didn’t provide enough coverage (which is particularly important when I have red eczema spots on my face). When  I discovered the Kiko Universal Fit Hydrating Foundation, I couldn’t wait to try it out! It sounded like the perfect foundation for me. Why? It claims to be:

  • Hypoallergenic
  • Non comedogenic
  • Fragrance free
  • Paraben free
  • Hydrating
  • Suited for all skin types

Kiko Cosmetics describes the foundation like this:

“With a pliable consistency and surprisingly natural effect, Universal Fit blends perfectly into your skin. Facial features appear smoother and skin appears soft and even all day long. Its medium-high coverage is easy buildable. The formula has been enriched with a mix of moisturizing and emollient active ingredients and a multi-action vegetable complex to protect skin from environmental stresses that cause aging. Clinical trials show that skin hydration is improved after just 7 days of using the product*. Some of Universal Fit’s raw ingredients also capture and amplify the light to minimize imperfections. The creamy, fresh and long lasting texture glides onto the skin with a velvety feel for instant comfort and a sensation of pleasant lightness on the face.”

So, is the foundation true to its description?

Ribbet collage1

Universal Fit doesn’t emphasize dry spots – something I always have around my eyes and between my mouth and nose, even when I moisturize – so that’s a big plus! I don’t know if that will still be the case when I have bad eczema on my face but no foundation would probably be hydrating enough for that. Overall, my skin looks smooth, natural and so much healthier. It also doesn’t feel like you have something on your face. As for the coverage: I used only one layer and it did cover up my few red spots pretty well. Again, not sure how it will be when my face is in full eczema-modus though. Now, as for the claim “fragrance free”: there is a slight (vanilla?) scent to it and not an unpleasant one like many products that don’t contain perfume. It’s not too strong, but present, so I’m kind of questioning the whole “fragrance free” thing…it doesn’t seem to cause me any allergic reactions though, so I don’t mind that much.

I should probably also mention some practical stuff!  It’s nice to know that there are quite a lot of shades (20) to choose from and they vary between warm, cool and neutral. If you don’t know whether you have warm or cool undertones in your skin, neutral is probably the best choice. I wasn’t sure what to choose, but decided to go for warm beige (no.30) as the yellowish tone might take more of my redness away than a pinkish one. Also the price is nice! I’ve only paid about 4,50 euros for this foundation  (I think there was a discount because on the website it costs 5,90 euros) 😮 . Cheap prices may cause you to question the quality, but I must say I have always been very satisfied with Kiko products. This one included! It is definitely the best foundation for my skin I have encountered, at least for now!

Leave a Reply

